The Bookshelf, The Parlor, The Young Texas Reader, and the Monthly

The Texas Bookshelf is different from the The Texas Parlor, . The Texas Parlor carries "general" bookish information and non-book information and even different Texana news and notes of use to the bibliographically challenged and other nosey folks intersted in historical, literary, and cultural observations. Will's Texana Monthly may carry material from either blog, but extends itself beyond those, especially for longer compilations or treatments. The Monthly, the Bookshelf and the Parlor are all companions. So, is the Young Texas Reader which specialized on books and such things for the youngest to the teenagers.

Tuesday, April 6, 2010

Houston Romance Writers review column - Thacker

   Teri Thacker, a romance writer herself, writes for the Examiner - book reviews of Houston area romance novelists whose settings often, but not always, are in Texas and Houston.  See more revealed at

2010 WesternWriters Spur Awards

The Western Writers Association has announced its current winners.  Some are Texana, including:

Robert Flynn's Echoes of Glory (published by Texas Christian University Press) won for Best Western Long Novel 

Nonfiction-Biography: David C. Humphrey, Peg Leg (Texas State Historical Association).
Nonfiction-Contemporary: Charles H. Harris III and Louis R. Sadler, The Secret War in El Paso: Mexican Revolutionary Intrigue, 1906-1920 (University of New Mexico Press).
Check the list for others at where the lists go back to 1959.

The convention's in Knoxville in June.

Fehrenbach and Conan the Barbarian

    Jim Cornelius at "The Cimmerian" writes about "T.R. Fehrenbach — Howardian historian."  The essay makes clear the relationship between Robert E. Howard's (i.e., Conan the Barbarian, etc) historical sweep and that of Howard's Texas homeland.  Folks at the Parlor would go so far as to say Conan was a Texan.


Behold the People: R.C. Hickman's Photographs

Hickman_BeholdThePeople    Carla in the "81 Press" revives interrest in Behold the People: R.C. Hickman's Photographs of Black Dallas 1949-1961
She begins:

"This remarkable book reproduces over one hundred photographs taken by R.C. Hickman, a professional photographer whose exceptional work provides a fascinating visual record of life in Dallas's black community during the three decades following World War II.

Born in Mineola, Texas, in 1922, Hickman moved with his family to Dallas, where his father worked at the Baker Hotel as a cook. While in the army during World War II, Hickman acquired his knowledge of photography by watching a fellow soldier develop official pictures of military combat. He learned quickly and soon became an official army photographer."  Read more from Carla at

Sunday, April 4, 2010

Texas Institute of Letters Literary Awards Finalists for 2009

Darwin Payne sends this news relase from TIL

Texas Institute of Letters Finalists

Named for 2009 Literary Awards

Finalists for the Texas Institute of letters awards for 2009 have been announced by William V. Davis, the organization's president.

Winners will be named at the Saturday evening, May 1, annual banquet at the Radisson Hotel in Austin. Judges made decisions in nine categories including fiction, first fiction, non-fiction, scholarly books, short stories, poetry, book design, magazine journalism, and children's books published during the year.

The institute was founded in 1936 to recognize literary achievement and to promote interest in Texas literature. Authors must have lived in Texas for at least two years or their works must relate to the state.

Jesse Jones Award for Fiction ($6,000): Scott Blackwood, We Agreed to Meet Just Here (New Issues Press); Oscar Casares, Amigoland (Little, Brown); and Cristina Henriquez, The World in Half (Penguin Group).

Carr P. Collins Award for Nonfiction ($5,000): Bryan Burrough, The Big Rich: The Rise and Fall of the Greatest Texas Oil Fortunes (Penguin Press); Tracy Daugherty, Hiding Man: A Biography of Donald Barthelme (St. Martin's Press); Steve Davis, J. Frank Dobie: A Liberated Mind (University of Texas Press); and Bill Sloan, The Darkest Summer: Pusan and Inchon 1950, The Battles That Saved South Korea—and the Marines—From Extinction (Simon & Schuster).

Steven Turner Award for First Fiction ($1,000): John Pipkin, Woodsburner (Nan A. Talese/Doubleday); Barbara Renaud Gonzalez, Golondrina, Why Did You Leave Me? (University of Texas Press); and Lowell Mick White, Long Time Ago Good (Slough Press).

TIL Award for Scholarly Book ($2,500): Mary Jo O'Rear, Storm Over the Bay: The People of Corpus Christi and Their Port (Gulf Coast Books); Gene B. Preuss, To Get a Better School System: One Hundred Years of Education Reform in Texas (Texas A&M Press); Emilio Zamora, Claiming Rights and Righting Wrongs in Texas: Mexican Workers and Job Politics During World War II (Texas A&M Press).

Helen C. Smith Memorial Award for Poetry ($1,200): Wendy Barker, Nothing Between Us (De Sol Press); William Virgil Davis, Landscape and Journey (Ivan R. Dee); James Hoggard, Triangles of Light: The Edward Hopper Poems (Wings Press); and John Poch, Dolls (Orchises Press).

O. Henry Award for Magazine Journalism ($1,000): Pamela Colloff, "Flesh and Blood," June 2009, Texas Monthly; Michael Hall, "The Judgment of Sharon Keller," August 2009, Texas Monthly; and John Spong, "Holding Garmsir," January 2009, Texas Monthly.

Austin Public Library Friends Foundation Award for Children's Book ($500): Benjamin Alire Saenz, The Dog Who Loved Tortillas (Cinco Puntos Press); Gwendolyn Zepeda, Sunflowers/ Girasoles (Pinada Books).

Kay Cattarulla Award for Short Story ($1,000): John Henry Irsfeld, "Drifting Too Far," New South, Spring/Summer 2009; Marjorie Kempner, "Discovering America," Southwest Review, Fall 2009; and Jaina Sanga, "The Good Price." Asia Literary Review, Autumn 2009.

Fred Whitehead Award for Design of a Trade Book ($750): Lindsay Starr, "I Do Not Apologize for the Length of This Letter": The Mari Sandoz Letters on Native American Rights, 1940-1965, (Texas Tech University Press); Lindsay Starr, Sex, Murder, and the Unwritten Law Courting Judicial Mayhem, Texas Style, (Texas Tech University Press); and Thomas Fink, The Man's Book (Little, Brown).

No awards were given in the Stanley Walker Award for Best Work of Newspaper Journalism Appearing in Newspaper or Sunday Supplement; the Friends of Austin Public Library Award for Best Young Adult Book, or the Soeurette Diehl Fraser Award for Best Translation of a Book. The Fraser Award is given every two years, and it will be awarded in 2011 for books published in 2009 or 2010."